top of page

Myra Lopes Citizenship Award

Acknowledging Excellence

The Fairhaven Improvement Association presents Myra Lopes Outstanding Citizenship Awards annually to Fairhaven students in the  4th, 8th and 11th grade who exemplify outstanding character, citizenship, and concern for others.  Beginning in 2014 the Outstanding Citizenship Award was named in memory of Myra A. Lopes, a very special person, and dedicated member of the Fairhaven Improvement Association who exemplified all of the traits this award represents.  Myra’s dedication to improving her community started at a young age. Myra herself joined the Fairhaven Junior Improvement Association.  Myra was an educator, an author and historian, writing many books about Fairhaven history and serving as the Historian of the Joshua Slocum Society. She volunteered her time with countless organizations such as the Millicent Library, Rotary International and of course the Fairhaven Improvement Association.  Her commitment to the FIA was unyielding having served as President from 1991-1993, serving with her husband Curt as chair of the Homecoming Committee for many years and serving as a member of the Board of Directors for decades.  We honor those students that have been chosen by their teachers and their principal as Outstanding Citizens, who embody what Myra Lopes represented throughout her life. Each recipient receives a certificate and a Fairhaven Junior Improvement Association pin. The name of each recipient is engraved on a plaque and displayed within each school. 

2023 Award Recipients

Fairhaven High School

Arden Bradshaw 

Coby Yin

Hastings Middle School

Margaux E. Poyant  

Charles P. M. Walsh

East Fairhaven 

Cecilia Burke

Aria Camara

Leroy L. Wood School

Noah Medeiros 

 Kira Lima

St Joseph School

Holley Chouinard

Luc Chouinard

bottom of page